Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 250 Specific Forum
 Heaving to & lifelines
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

watercayman
1st Mate

Member Avatar

Cayman Islands
49 Posts

Initially Posted - 04/09/2010 :  18:32:18  Show Profile
Hi Folks,

I took the day off from work and went out all day for a nearly perfect day. Before heading out though, I did a little research here on the forum about heaving to -- I've never done it before, and it seems like something very worthwhile to know how to do.

I got everything in position and prepared to head into the wind when I noticed the load-bearing jib sheet was going to put all its load across the lifeline once hoven to. The sheets go under the lifelines, so once the jib backwinds and comes across the deck (I was using about 95% today as winds were a bit strong) the sheet is coming from the car outside the lifeline, over it, and to the jib.

I decided not to try the heave to today, and check with you all. I'm sure this is either a simple thing or I'm doing something wrong, but I didn't want to put that kind of stress on the lifeline without asking for some help first.

Any problems with crossing the lifeline? Or am I just missing something in my setup?

Many thanks!

Mike

Mike Barrowman

Beneteau 311
P/O 1999 Catalina 250WK - #414
Cayman Islands

Edited by - on

Dave Bristle
Master Marine Consultant

Members Avatar

Djibouti
10005 Posts

Response Posted - 04/09/2010 :  21:29:30  Show Profile