Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 Flying the Spinnaker
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Bladeswell
Captain

Member Avatar

USA
490 Posts

Initially Posted - 10/05/2017 :  14:17:42  Show Profile  Visit Bladeswell's Homepage
Hello Everyone,

While I have no spinnaker experience my boat did come with one as well as a spinnaker and whisker poles. Looking thru my various "how to" sailing books, it looks like the clew end of the Spinnaker pole is not attached to the sails clew but just to the sheet right where it attaches to the sails clew. Is this right ? If So, what is keeping the pole end from sliding down and away from the clew ? Also, about half way up the mast near the steaming light, I have what looks like a halyard exit block. is it a safe assumption that this is for the Spinnaker pole lift ? Thanks again guys. Good sailing all.

Bladeswell

C25 TR FK Hull #973 1979 L-Dinette. So.Cal.

HerdOfTurtles
1st Mate

Members Avatar

USA
68 Posts

Response Posted - 10/05/2017 :  15:08:20  Show Profile  Visit HerdOfTurtles's Homepage
The clew by the spinnaker pole is effectively the tack as it is windward.

I believe the solution to the pole sliding away from the tack is most easily solved by attaching a "twinger" to the "lazy" sheet which effectively turns it into a guy.

Run the twinger through a block far forward on the genoa track. The twinger is a small line with a flying block that rides on the spinnaker sheet. By positioning it forward and pulling the twinger in on the windward (lazy) sheet you create an angle in the sheet where it meets the spinnaker pole and the pole will want to stay forward.