Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 Spinnakers, sock or no sock...?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Bladeswell
Captain

Member Avatar

USA
490 Posts

Initially Posted - 03/16/2018 :  20:45:16  Show Profile  Visit Bladeswell's Homepage
Hello again,

While I am an expert "Arm Chair Sailor", (name the book, I probably have it), I have limited actual sailing experience. When I finally reached my life's dream and bought my Cat25, she came equipped with a spinnaker, spinnaker pole and a whisker pole. I have sailed her several times now but I have never flown a spinnaker before and sense I mostly sail single handed, I am uncomfortable with the idea of trying it alone. I don't want to take the chance and end up destroying an expensive sail or maybe getting injured. So, my spinnaker currently lives in a sock in a turtle bag. While I have several great books that demonstrate and describe the processes, none say anything about using a sock. With one exception, my single hander's book author mentions that he doesn't use them. So I am hoping you good folks can share your wisdom with me once more and help me decide weather I should keep it and learn to use it or just sell it.Thanks again everyone.

Bladeswell

C25 TR FK Hull #973 1979 L-Dinette. So.Cal.

Sailynn
Navigator

Members Avatar

USA
178 Posts

Response Posted - 03/16/2018 :  22:33:44  Show Profile