Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 General Sailing Forum
 Billion Oyster Project
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Peregrine
Admiral

Member Avatar

830 Posts

Initially Posted - 10/12/2018 :  11:42:09  Show Profile  Visit Peregrine's Homepage
I have been sailing Peregrine out of Oyster Bay NY for over 20 years and have seen the good oysters can do to the waters and the livelihoods made by those oysters.
Now there is a project to restore the oysters, which were plentiful, to New York harbor.
The Oyster Bay Baymen are starting a similar, if smaller, project and I have seen other areas in the country that are doing the same thing.
I love eating oysters but even you don't they are good for waters we sail in.
Please read the article, go to the "Billion Oyster" web site and watch the video.
https://www.treehugger.com/conservation/how-oysters-are-restoring-new-yorks-polluted-harbor.html

John Gisondi
Peregrine

Edited by - Peregrine on 10/12/2018 11:56:54

Dave5041
Former Mainsheet Editor

Members Avatar

USA
3754 Posts

Response Posted - 10/20/2018 :  13:30:47  Show Profile
I don't eat them, but my son considers them a basic food group. Micheal devastating Apalachicola Bay will create a big hole in the oyster market that Im sure they will happily fill. I'm guessing that New York, like many states, local governments and grassroots groups are working hard to preserve our water and heritage.

Dave B. aboard Pearl
1982 TR/SK/Trad. #3399
Lake Erie/Florida Panhandle

Edited by - Dave5041 on 10/26/2018 18:06:20
Go to Top of Page

Steve Milby
Past Commodore

Members Avatar

USA
5851 Posts

Response Posted - 10/20/2018 :  14:33:16  Show Profile