Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Capri 25 Specific Forum
 Keel Mount construction.
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

tocreemer
Deckhand

Member Avatar

USA
2 Posts

Initially Posted - 02/13/2018 :  07:04:53  Show Profile
I'm new to the Capri 25. I've sailed aboard one in several local races, but never have been involved with any sort of repair on the boat. I've found a local Capri 25 that I thought I would purchase, but after inspecting the boat I am worried about the Keel.

I've included a link to a google drive with a few photos of the keel sump and the Hull at the keel attachment point. It appears to me the bracing the keel attaches to within the hull is compromised. What I don't know is how keel box is constructed and what the extent of work would be in making a repair.

Does anyone have any pictures or diagrams that detail the construction around the keel mount? Has anyone had a similar issue and made a repair. Any thoughts or tips would be appreciated. I've done quite a bit of fiberglass and hull work on other boats, but this one makes me nervous.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1w6R3VcXGzjvOrQVBPUfTnGyqDEDHnQ3v

TC

joearcht
Navigator

Members Avatar

USA
236 Posts

Response Posted - 02/13/2018 :  08:04:52  Show Profile
I think your nervousness is justifiable. Check the "Manual & Brochures" link on this website then select the "Architectural Drawings" link under Capri 25.