Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 General Sailing Forum
 Insurance
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Bruce Baker
Captain

Member Avatar

USA
402 Posts

Initially Posted - 04/25/2006 :  09:09:32  Show Profile
I have been insuring my boat with State Farm for four years. My mast snapped, due to incompetent installation by the boatyard from whom I bought the boat. State Farm paid the claim, but I was left with the impression that they don't know squat about sailboats.

So I got a quote from Boat US. But I'm uneasy about the quote:
1. It's about half what I pay State Farm ($101 versus $220).
2. It is for members of the Coast Guard Auxilliary (I don't know why, I'm not a member. I am a member of the Power Squadron--for now--I had to join in order to take a class.

What do you all pay for insurance?

Bruce Baker
Falls Church, VA
"Yee Ha" 3573
'83SR/SK

Edited by - on

Dave Bristle
Master Marine Consultant

Members Avatar

Djibouti
10005 Posts

Response Posted - 04/25/2006 :  09:14:27  Show Profile
$244 to BoatUS with a hull value of $5K and a "no-loss credit." At $5K, I'm not really covering the boat--my concern is liability.

Edited by - on
Go to Top of Page

existentialsailor
Master Marine Consultant

Members Avatar

USA
1180 Posts

Response Posted - 04/25/2006 :  09:29:42  Show Profile
$130, BoatUS, same as Dave, concern is liability, not boat value. My premium may increase when I let BoatUS know, the boat will be on the coast instead of on an inland lake.

Edited by - on
Go to Top of Page

djn
Master Marine Consultant

Members Avatar

USA
1561 Posts

Response Posted - 04/25/2006 :  12:51:37  Show Profile