Notice:
The advice given on this site is based upon individual or quoted experience, yours may differ.
The Officers, Staff and members of this site only provide information based upon the concept that anyone utilizing this information does so at their own risk and holds harmless all contributors to this site.
Eric, you are correct in your statement about the last or redirected line being under the same tension as the load. Because of the direction of your pull. The truth is that in the examples pictured, it can be either 5-1MA or 4-1MA it all depends on which end or set of pulleys is moving and which end is fixed. One simple rule of thumb for any rope MA system is that if the bitter end of the rope moves with the load (in this case the clew) the MA will be an odd number.
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by eric.werkowitz</i> <br />As I said before, the clew is the weight. It is the point that is moving. The upper block is fixed (to the end of the mast). Since the tail is pulling in the direction of the movement of the weight (clew), it must be counted in determining the advantage. That's why the equation says P=1/5W and not P=1/4W.
You're right, I learned it once. <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote"> Well, you know Eric it sounds like you have been right all along, do you feel like you have been explaining something to people who were not listening? Teaching is tougher than people think.
So let me get this straight...If I take my 4:1 boom vang and reverse it, it now becomes a 5:1 even though the length of line being pulled is the same???
Frank - you replied to a query about your straps <font color="brown">"The straps are on a double length of bungie from layline. They pull up and around the main very nicely."</font id="brown">
You've partially solved the mystery of what this bungie-stretch nylon clip strap I found on my boat actually does. The PO has not responded to my question about what it's for and where it goes. I surmised that they go on the boom - thanx to your picture, I have confirmation. What do you call it, and when do you use it?
Here are the items I found but could not identify ... there's the Frank Strap and a bungee with plastic collar and the remaining mystery - those stainless steel things with the thumb screws. I think they are for the stove but would like to know for sure.
I think they are called Davis caterpillars in the catalogs. Gooseneck to boom end-cap. Drop the sail, flake on the boom, and pull them up and around. I have a full batten main and I can often catch the bottom batten and the end of the second batten with the aft strap from about my companionway and it will hold the sail on the boom well enough to get in to the dock. The original bungie died on mine and I replaced it with much stronger stuff from LayLine.
The stainless steel items look like potholders for the stove. The thumbscrew end mounts on the rail on the inboard end of the stove. They hold pots on the burners when the boat is heeling. I agree with Frank -- the long bungee is a sail caterpillar. I used to have one but didn't like it -- I prefer four snaplock sail ties.
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"> Well, you know Eric it sounds like you have been right all along, do you feel like you have been explaining something to people who were not listening? Teaching is tougher than people think. <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote">
Well Frank, I can certainly see how it must be frustrating at times!
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by dlucier</i> <br />So let me get this straight...If I take my 4:1 boom vang and reverse it, it now becomes a 5:1 even though the length of line being pulled is the same???
I don't know how your vang is rigged, but reversing a set of blocks can result in a change of advantage. However, if the advantage changes then so must the amount of motion of the blocks exerting the effort for a given length of line that is pulled.
Notice: The advice given on this site is based upon individual or quoted experience, yours may differ. The Officers, Staff and members of this site only provide information based upon the concept that anyone utilizing this information does so at their own risk and holds harmless all contributors to this site.