Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 250 Specific Forum
 New to Catalina - looking for advice
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

PeteD
Deckhand

Member Avatar

Australia
6 Posts

Initially Posted - 02/16/2024 :  20:05:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello all
I'm new to the Catalina family having just purchased a 2008 250 WK model with helm steering. This forum is such a great way to learn about the boat, thankyou to all who have contributed.
I have a few questions regarding the installation of items, these probably have been covered previously however I can't find the correct threads.
These are some of my questions for now which I'm sure won't be the last as my journey continues.
I would like to install a marine vhf radio on the starboard side just aft of the galley(as I have seen on a few, or is there another preferred place?) and a chart plotter/depth sounder unit on the helm above the compass.
My 2 main issues here are drilling into the interior lining to mount the radio and where / how to neatly run the cables and vhf aerial, and cables up to the helm. I will mount the depth transducer forward of the keel under the vee berth.
I have read a bit about increasing the ballast weight in the bow, is this regarded by most as necessary?
Bimini installation. Any correct dimensions to clear the mainsheet and the backstay and for width? Self tapping screws through side decks?
There are so many great improvements and ideas you all have made to your boats, it has given me lots of incentive to do so much.

Thankyou,
Regards,
Pete
2008 Catalina 250 WK HN-969

Voyager
Master Marine Consultant

Members Avatar

USA
5231 Posts