Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 General Sailing Forum
 Tales of a New Furler
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

GaryB
Master Marine Consultant

Member Avatar

USA
4275 Posts

Initially Posted - 06/16/2011 :  20:49:48  Show Profile
<i>First, let me say I've been boating both sail and power for 45 years so keep that in mind as you read my tale. Some of these things shouldn't have ever happened and shows how easy it is to make mistakes even with years of experience.</i>

I finally got to try out my new furler Tuesday evening after work. Since my mast lights are intermittent I stayed in Clear Lake so I could sail as long as possible and still get back to the dock well before dark.

Winds were 15 gusting to 19 and the water only had small waves. Perfect for getting used to the new furler.

I cruised out of the marina and shut off the motor.

I chose to sail on the 150 without the main so when I was ready I released the furling line and pulled on the windward sheet.

Lesson #1 - Don't leave the furling line unattended! In about 2 seconds the 150 was fully deployed with a loud whack as it filled. Sounded like a parachute opening.

No harm done. Sheeted in and took off. Then I noticed the 150 had a funny shape. Started checking it out and realized I had not moved the main halyard from it's attachment point on the lifeline just in front of the starboard front lower and the sheet was trying to tear it off the lifeline.

I'm thinking, man this is cool having a furler, I'll just roll it up and fix the halyard. In nothing flat I had everything sorted out and rolled the 150 back out making sure to maintain some tension on the furling line this time.