Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 Ventilating the Dumpster
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

redeye
Master Marine Consultant

Member Avatar

3474 Posts

Initially Posted - 03/21/2019 :  05:05:15  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
My dumpster holds moisture and I've been mulling over designs for many years. Drilling holes into the wood panel between the aft birth and the dumpster, adding screen on the dumpster side. Drilling a hole into panel with the electric panel, also screening. Hole in the forward section of the coaming.. and of course for that location I dream of some computer fan run by a solar panel... But I'm thinking passive venting ( just a screened opening ) would be just fine, with a clamshell facing upward on the inside of the coaming to block water.

But then there is the French wine and Cheeses....

Ray in Atlanta, Ga.
"Lee Key" '84 Catalina 25
Standard Rig / Fin Keel

Erik Cornelison
Navigator

Members Avatar

USA
194 Posts

Response Posted - 03/21/2019 :  08:01:31  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
What do you think about two small screened vents to the cockpit? Two vents create some cross flow and its outside air moving though the dumpster.

Erik Cornelison
6th Generation Professional Sailor, First Gen Submarine Sailor.
1986 Standard Rig SW. #5234
Go to Top of Page

redeye
Master Marine Consultant

Members Avatar

3474 Posts

Response Posted - 03/22/2019 :  05:43:18  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
<< What do you think about two small screened vents to the cockpit? >>